Dark Chocolate Ganache| How To Make Ganache Using Cocoa Powder

Chocolate ganache is this wonderful, wonderful thing – the kind of stuff that dreams are made up of. It is a silky, glistening, decadent and absolutely delicious gooey chocolate mixture that has multiple uses. Today, I’m going to tell you all how to make ganache using cocoa powder. It’s dark chocolate ganache and, let me tell you, it’s absolutely sinful!

Chocolate ganache, made using cocoa powder

A bit more about this chocolate ganache

Chocolate ganache is typically made using cream and chocolate. Cream is gently heated till hot, then grated chocolate is slowly mixed into it till one gets a beautiful, homogeneous mixture. This ganache, however, is prepared using cocoa powder, like I was saying earlier. Yes, it’s possible! It tastes every bit as delicious as the traditional version made with chocolate! The cocoa powder version is easier and quicker to make than the traditional one too – there’s no chocolate to be painstakingly chopped.

I have used Absolute Dark, unsweetened dark cocoa powder from a Tamilnadu-based brand Indian Natives. It is single-origin, organically grown, vegan and cruelty-free cocoa that I have been using for some time now. I absolutely love the pure flavours of the cocoa, and so does my little daughter who has it with her milk almost every day. Check out the Dark Chocolate Truffles and Fruit & Nut Chocolate Modak that I made using the same cocoa powder.

I have used fresh cream from Milky Mist to make this ganache. However, instead of regular refined sugar, I have used Khandsari sugar from Safe Harvest here. It comes in powder form, and is super easy to dissolve in the hot cream.

How to make ganache using cocoa powder

Here is how I go about it.
Ingredients (makes about 2 cups):

  1. 500 ml cream
  2. 7 tablespoons of unsweetened dark cocoa powder or as needed
  3. 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar

Method:
1. Take the cream in a heavy-bottomed pan. Place on medium flame.

2. Allow the cream to heat up slowly, on medium heat. Keeping the flame medium, let it begin to start bubbling. Switch off gas at this stage.

3. Add in the cocoa powder and sugar little by little, whisking constantly. Make sure no lumps are formed.

4. When the ingredients are thoroughly mixed together, keep the pan aside, covered. Allow the mixture to cool down fully. Your Dark Chocolate Ganache is ready. You can use it immediately or after chilling in the refrigerator for a few hours.

It’s raining chocolate recipes at the Shhh Cooking Secretly Challenge

I’m sharing this recipe in association with the Shhh Cooking Secretly Challenge.

The Shhh Cooking Secretly Challenge is run by a bunch of enthusiastic food bloggers who cook based on a pre-determined theme, every month. The group members form pairs, and each pair secretly exchanges two ingredients, which are then used to cook for the theme of the month. It’s super fun!

For the month of August, Mayuri of Mayuri’s Jikoni suggested we prepare something using chocolate. You should check out this unusual Chilli Avocado Chocolate Cake that Mayuri made for the Challenge! Just how creative is that?!

I was paired with Shobana of Shoba’s Delight this month, and she gave me the ingredients of ‘cocoa powder’ and ‘cream’. I decided to use them to prepare this lovely Dark Chocolate Ganache. I gave Shobana ‘dark chocolate’ and ‘milk’, and she came up with this amazing Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Muffins.

How to use chocolate ganache

Chocolate ganache is so delightful that it can be eaten on its own. It tastes wonderful when slightly chilled.

Here are some other uses for chocolate ganache:

* Ice your cakes, cookies and brownies with it.

* Use it to layer parfait and trifles.

* Use it as a filling for cakes, cookies and brownies.

* Dip fruits like cherries, pineapple and strawberries in it! You can also use it as a dip for things like marshmallows and cookies.

* Fill it in your pies and tarts.

* Use it to make chocolate truffles.

* Make a milkshake with it.

* Drizzle it over ice cream or fruit salad.

These are just a few usages. The options are endless!

Tips & Tricks

1. Instead of the Khandsari sugar I have used here, you can use regular powdered sugar too.

2. Instead of the fresh cream I have used here, you can use whipping cream as well.

3. Make sure you cook the cream in a heavy-bottomed pan, on a gentle flame only. This will help prevent curdling.

4. Make sure there are no lumps while mixing the cocoa powder into the hot cream.

5. You may use regular unsweetened cocoa powder instead of the dark one I have used here.

6. Once the Dark Chocolate Ganache has fully cooled down, it can be stored in a clean, dry, air-tight bottle. This can be stored refrigerated for up to a week.

7. I use a hand-held, non-electric whisk to mix the cocoa powder into the hot cream. This helps better incorporation and in reducing the formation of lumps.

8. Don’t worry if some lumps remain in the chocolate ganache – the first couple of times I made this, a few lumps were present, but the ganache still tasted fine. I learnt to avoid them afterwards.

9. The ganache might look a bit liquid-y when you finish mixing in the sugar and cocoa powder. However, it thickens upon cooling – it does not become very hard, but thickens to a nice, spreadable consistency.

Did you like this recipe? Do tell me, in your comments!

35 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Ganache| How To Make Ganache Using Cocoa Powder

  1. This is simply superb..I had never thought Ganache can be made using cocoa powder. This recipe is definitely a keeper and also has the beautiful glaze like the usual chocolate Ganache.

    Like

  2. That is a nice idea to use cocoa powder for the ganache, especially if you do not have chocolate at hand or as you said do not want to chop it out. Love the glaze on the ganache.

    Like

  3. What an innovative recipe Priya, I would have never thought of using cocoa powder to make a chocolate ganache. I’m capable of enjoying ganache on its own. With the right kind of cocoa am sure the flavour of ganache is absolutely awesome.

    Like

  4. Wow, this is a revelation! I always thought that ganache is always chocolate and cream. Now I guess I can make this if I want a quick frosting. Actually, I feel I would end up licking the whole thing without even putting it on the cake… 😀

    Like

  5. That bowl of chocolate ganache looks absolutely delectable and I can have it on its own. Very innovative recipe Priya. Now making chocolate ganache at home would be so so easy.

    Like

  6. Dark chocolate ganache looks super delectable Priya, loved its texture and glaze on ganache. The way you used cocoa powder to prepare this ganache is very interesting, we can prepare many recipes easily if this ganache is ready. I love to add this on my milk shakes 🙂

    Like

  7. Such a innovative idea to use cocoa powder to make ganache. Using good quality cocoa powder makes it taste good. This looks like absolute delight and can be used in many desserts.

    Like

  8. If you give me this bowl for the cake I doubt I will have any ganache left for that as I would have surely licked it clean. I love the sheen on the ganache

    Like

  9. love this velvety, gooey, creamy chocolate ganache !!!
    priya you have prepared so well. you cant believe, I can lick the whole bowl here without any guilt ;P
    lovely clicks as well.

    Like

  10. Thank you but I want to make ganache for commercial purpose what should I add in order to increase shelf life and what type of mixing and boiling machines are needed. Thank you in advance

    Like

Leave a comment