Elotes| Mexican Street-Style Corn On The Cob

Grilled corn on the cob, coated with a creamy sauce, drizzled with lemon juice and red chilli powder, sometimes decked up with coriander, and served with a dash of grated cheese on top are, apparently, a popular street food in Mexico. Street-side carts do a brisk business of selling this corn on the cob, locally called ‘Elotes’.

Ever since I tried out Mexican street-style corn on the cob or Elotes at Chinita,  a few months ago, I had been thinking of trying it out at home. I never got around to doing that, though, till this weekend. I am thrilled with the way they turned out!

The little reading I did on the Internet gave me several different ways of making Elotes. Some recipes used mayonnaise, some didn’t. Some recipes suggested using char-grilling the corn, some didn’t. Some recipes used coriander, some didn’t. Ultimately, I decided to go ahead and make the Elotes my way – a mish-mash of steps from several different results. I used Veeba’s Cheese & Jalapeno Sandwich Spread for the creaminess and some of the wonderful artisanal Cheddar cheese that my husband recently got home from Jerusalem. The end result was delicious, like I said before, and the Elotes were gone within minutes of their making.

img_20170715_170630
Elotes, or Mexican street-style corn on the cob

Purists, balk at my choice of ingredients if you want to, but this version works for me. At least for now. These Elotes were pretty close in taste to the ones I tried at Chinita, so I am happy.

Here’s how I made the Elotes or Mexican street-style corn on the cob.

Ingredients (3-4 pieces):

  1. 1 large sweet corn, peeled and broken into 3-4 pieces
  2. A few stalks of fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped
  3. Red chilli powder, to drizzle over the corn, as per taste
  4. Cheddar cheese, grated, as much as you’d like to spread over the corn
  5. Veeba Cheese & Jalapeno Sandwich Spread, as needed to spread over the corn
  6. A small wedge of lemon

Method:

  1. Place the pieces of corn in a wide vessel and add enough water to cover them completely. Pressure cook the corn on high flame, for 4 whistles.
  2. Let the pressure release naturally, and then remove the boiled corn from the vessel. Let them cool down enough for you to be able to handle them easily.
  3. Spread the Veeba Cheese & Jalapeno Sandwich Spread evenly over the pieces of corn.
  4. Drizzle some red chilli powder, lemon juice, grated Cheddar cheese and finely chopped coriander over the pieces of corn. Ensure that all sides of the corn are evenly covered with all ingredients.
  5. Arrange in a serving plate. Serve immediately.

Notes:

  1. Like I was saying earlier, mayonnaise can be used in place of the Veeba Cheese & Jalapeno Sandwich Spread, too. I tried out both versions, and liked this one better.
  2. Any cheese with a sharp flavour works well with this Mexican street-style corn on the cob. If you don’t have artisanal cheese, a processed cheese like Amul should do, too.
  3. Adjust the quantities of Veeba Cheese & Jalapeno Sandwich Spread, lemon juice, grated Cheddar cheese, and red chilli powder depending upon your taste preferences.
  4. You could char-grill the corn before preparing it, too. I chose to not do that, and used boiled corn instead.

This recipe has been developed for Veeba Foods, who have kindly sent across a gift hamper of their products, for me to test and use.

You like? I hope you will try out this recipe too, and that you will love it just as much as we did!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Elotes| Mexican Street-Style Corn On The Cob

Leave a Reply

