A Very Keralite Breakfast At No. 10 Fort Cochin, St. Marks Road

Over the weekend, I was invited to be part of a breakfast meet for food bloggers at No. 10 Fort Cochin, a relatively new eatery on the busy St. Marks Road in Bangalore. Along with some of my foodie friends, I had a grand time here, gorging on some typical Keralite fare. This post is all about my experience.

No. 10 Fort Cochin, In a Nutshell

The restaurant, previously called Malabar Kitchen, isn’t a tough spot to find, considering that it is located at a prominent place on St. Marks Road. Basement parking is available, which is a big, big, big plus in a city like Bangalore and, therefore, worth a mention here.

The place prides itself on serving authentic Keralite food, including a full-blown sadya for lunch. Apparently, the chefs have been brought in from a couple of the best restaurants in Kerala, to ensure authenticity. Also, the fish and other seafood used in their meals comes fresh from special places on the coastline of Kerala and Gujarat.

Announcing breakfast at No. 10 Fort Cochin!

No. 10 Fort Cochin has been used to catering to corporate crowds from the offices nearby, for lunch and dinner. Breakfast, here, though, is something that has very recently launched. They do the typical puttu, appams, egg roast and stew for breakfast, but they also have dosas, idlis and cornflakes forming part of the (limited) menu. You will definitely see a far more extensive menu, including a lot of vegetarian and seafood dishes, during lunch and dinner time here.

The decor

The eatery has a simple, no-fuss decor, all clean lines and functionality. The latticework on the walls lets in ample sunlight, ensuring the place is well-lit and ventilated. The wooden chairs and tables, which can seat up to 40 patrons at a time, are comfortable.

018
Seating at No. 10 Fort Cochin

The wall decor here is subtle, but impressive. An artist’s impressions of all things Kerala adorn the walls – murals of the famed Dutch Palace in Mattancherry, the streets of Cochin, the ships that you can commonly find in the sea at Fort Kochi, and so on. I couldn’t help but reminisce about the lovely time the husband and I have had vacationing in Kerala, here.

PicMonkey Collagefortcochin
Left: A model of a ship, on one of the walls at No. 10 Fort Cochin; Centre: The simple menu at the eatery, with a depiction of Fort Kochi’s famous Chinese fishing nets in the background; Right: A mural at the eatery, depicting the streets of Kerala

The food

We opted to sample the Keralite fare at No. 10 Fort Cochin over the cornflakes and other stuff (but of course!), and I would say we were richly rewarded. 🙂

Here is a brief overview of the food and drinks I tried out at this place.

Appams with vegetarian stew

I started breakfast with their appams and a vegetarian stew, both of which I loved. I have never had either before, so I am not sure of whether they would match up to the actual thing you get in Kerala. Personally, I quite liked the appams, pillowy soft with a faint hint of tanginess to them.

The vegetarian stew was perfect, with a generous amount of veggies, mild, with a slight kick from ginger. It suited my taste buds perfectly.

PicMonkey Collagefortcochin1
Left: The non-vegetarian version of stew; Right: Appams and egg roast, both dishes that my fellow foodies adored. I cannot comment on the taste, as I sampled only the vegetarian fare here.

Lemon juice

I washed down the appams with some good old lemon juice, made in plain water with no soda. It was decent – not exceptionally brilliant, nor too bad either.

Puttu and kadala curry

Next up, I tried out some puttu with its quintessential accompaniment – kadala curry.

The puttu was well done, generously doused with coconut, mild and simple. It was a tad dry and crumbly, but tasted great.

The kadala curry was lovely, and I simply loved it. It was mild and simple too, without any going overboard on the spices, just the way my mommy would make it.

PicMonkey Collagefortcochin2
Left: Puttu and kadala curry; Centre: Vegetarian stew; Right: Plain dosas

Plain dosas with sambar and chutney

I also tried out the plain dosas here, served with coconut chutney and sambar. I loved the dosas, neither overly crispy nor overly soft, done just right. The coconut chutney was finger-licking delicious, while the sambar was just average and could have been better.

The prices

Breakfast for two at No. 10 Fort Cochin would set you back by INR 500 or so, which is pretty reasonable considering the location of the place.

Overall…

I liked the food here. It was simple, homely and non-restaurant-y, if you know what I mean. The ambience is pleasing, too. This is surely a place I would love to go back to, especially for the Kerala-style sadya.

The views expressed herein are entirely my own,  uninfluenced by anyone or anything.

3 thoughts on “A Very Keralite Breakfast At No. 10 Fort Cochin, St. Marks Road

Leave a Reply

