Easy Fruit And Nut Squares| Home-Made Energy Bars

For a long time now, I have been thinking of trying my hands at making ‘energy bars’ at home. 

We aren’t big fans of any of the large number of energy bars available in shops now, but we do love Patanjali’s orange ones. We love buying a couple of them occasionally, for hogging in between meals. But then, home-made is always better, right? So, I set about hunting for recipes for home-made energy bars. 

Quite by chance, yesterday, I came across an interesting recipe on Instagram, at @cupcakeree. Incidentally, I had all the required ingredients at home, plus some more that I thought would be good to go in. I made the bars last night, a little Valentine’s Day treat for us, following the original recipe mostly, but making some variations of my own. 

The husband and I loved the end result. The bars turned out delicious, just the right amount of sweet, with a hint of sour and spice. 

Here’s how I made them. 

Ingredients (for about 15 squares) :

  1. 1/2 cup oats (I used Quaker’s) 
  2. 1/2 cup de-seeded dates
  3. 1/4 cup raisins
  4. 1/2 cup mixed nuts (I used walnuts, almonds and cashewnuts) 
  5. 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  6. 6-7 pieces of candied ginger (got them at Ajfan) 
  7. 1/4 cup dried golden berries with sugar (got them at Ajfan) 
  8. 1/4 cup dried cranberries (got them at Ajfan) 
  9. 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli) 
  10. 2 tablespoons flax seeds
  11. 2 tablespoons chia seeds

Method:

1. Heat up a pan and add the oats and mixed nuts. On medium heat, lightly dry roast these two ingredients, 3-4 minutes. Keep aside and allow to cool down completely. 

2. In a large mixer jar, put in the roasted oats and nuts along with all the other ingredients. Pulse for a couple of seconds, then open the mixer and mix the ingredients well. Pulse again for another couple of seconds, then mix ingredients well. Do this till all the ingredients come together in a sort of coarse paste. 

3. Pat down the mixture into the bottom of an air-tight box. 

4. Store the box, closed, in the refrigerator (not freezer) for at least half an hour. The mixture will set within half an hour’s time, after which you can remove the box from the refrigerator and cut squares out of the mixture. 

5. At this stage, if you want, you can roll the bars in dry coconut powder, sweetened cocoa powder, or colourful sprinkles. I didn’t do any of that – I decided to leave the bars plain. 

6. Store in an air-tight box, refrigerated or at room temperature. 

Notes:

1. The candied ginger and sugared, dried golden berries were my own additions. Feel free to skip them if you don’t have them. The ginger does add a lovely flavour to the bars, though. 

2. I bought most of the ingredients to make these bars at Ajfan, a store that I have come to love over time. This isn’t a paid promotional post for Ajfan. I decided to tell you the source of my beautiful ingredients out of the goodness of my heart. 🙂 

3. I am not sure if the dried cranberries had sugar in them, but the dried golden berries and candied ginger surely did. You could avoid these ingredients, plus the chocolate chips, if you want to make the energy bars completely free of refined sugars. You might want to increase the quantity of dates and raisins that you use, in that case. 

You like? I hope you will try this out too, and love it just as much as we did! 

3 thoughts on “Easy Fruit And Nut Squares| Home-Made Energy Bars

Leave a Reply

